Meet the Interns: Coricia Payton

Coricia Payton
(Outreach Intern - Jacksonville Office)

1. Tell us a little about yourself…

I’m 26 and from Trinidad and Tobago. I’ve been in the states for about 16 years now. My preferred gender pronoun is she or her. My husband and I moved here in 2011 after our service in the Marines. I have this insane passion for volunteering, kayaking, books, too much traveling and an explosive amount of scrapbooking. On a rainy day you will most likely find me painting some part of the town yellow or planning my next great adventure. I recently went back to school for a degree in Business (something I thought I would never do) and Project Management (something I love to do). Among many things my dream is to start my very own Non-Profit.

2. Why are you involved with LGBT activism?

I was first introduced to Jess by a mutual friend. I have many gay friends and family whom I love and I felt deserved to be just as happy as I am. What kept me involved is one of my best friends who also happened to be the Man of Honor at my wedding. I felt it would be a huge injustice not not be a part of his wedding, simply because of current legislation. I am involved now because I believe in standing up for what’s right. In the Military I fought for freedom of religion, race and basic human rights; now I fight for all inclusive rights for LGBT people.

3. Why did you want to intern at Equality Florida?

I love working with and managing volunteers. Working with Equality Florida has been a dream of mine for quite a while now. When Jess called me I had just gotten done with a campaign and scouting my next growing experience. Everyone dreams of being a part of something so much bigger than everyday life. So it was exactly what I was looking for and with the added bonus of working with a civil rights organization, who could say no? As the saying goes, “I can’t be everything to everyone, but I can be something to someone”.

4. What are your plans after you graduate?

Immediately after graduation I plan on couch surfing for a month, lose about 20lbs and then get to work creating a life I love. Somewhere around there I’ll get a Masters in Public Administration.









February 2012

September 2011

October 2010

May 2010

October 2009

July 2009

June 2009

May 2009

April 2009